Australia vs New Zealand, SCG Test, David Warner five run penalty, Tim Paine, Marnus Labuschagne, cricket 2020
Catch every ball of BBL|09 live on Fox Cricket 501!
Australian captain Tim Paine has defended the sportsmanship of his side after David Warner was given a rare five-run penalty on day four at the SCG.
Paine insisted Warner did not deliberately try and scuff up the pitch in a bid to give his side an advantage with the ball.
Watch every KFC Big Bash League match LIVE or On-Demand with KAYO SPORTS on your TV or favourite device. Get your 14-day free trial>
Warner pleaded his case to umpire Aleem Dar over the incident and Fox Cricket commentators Adam Gilchrist, Kerry O’Keeffe and Brett Lee were stunned at the match officials taking such a harsh view.
Paine said he was still unclear over the exact details of the incident, but fiercely defended Warner and his side’s tactics.
“Personally I didn’t see too much in it and certainly it wasn’t David trying to do that on purpose or a directive from our side,” said Paine post-match.
“The wicket was breaking up as it was. It didn’t’ need to break up any more than what it had. So we’ll wait and see what comes of it.
MORE CRICKET NEWS
BURNING QUESTIONS: Is Australia good enough to knock India off and rise to No.1?
VAUGHAN’S PLAYER RATINGS ‘He’s 9/10 every week’; Wade’s ‘nervous’ wait
LET’S CALL IT WHAT IT WAS: Test summer was most disappointing for some time
“The footage I saw on TV looked OK … like he hit the ball and tried to get off as quickly as he could.
“One of the umpires obviously saw it differently … we’ll see what comes of it.”
A bewildered David Warner was unhappy with Aleem Dar’s decision to dish out a five-run penalty for running on the SCG pitch, also lamenting the umpire’s “in your face” response to questioning.
However, the man who recently became Test cricket’s most experienced umpire drew exception with Warner and batting partner Marnus Labuschagne’s conduct during the third last over of Australia’s second innings.
Dar cautioned Labuschagne for running on the protected area of the deck then formally penalised Warner, judging him to have also caused avoidable damage to the pitch while taking off for a quick single.
It prompted a tense exchange, with Warner holding both outstretched arms up in the air before asking the standing umpire “what am I doing wrong?”.
Warner then pleaded his case with umpire Marais Erasmus, asking “what do you want (me) to do, play the shot and then jump this way (sideways)?”.
The former vice-captain, speaking after Australia’s 279-run win, was still coming to grips with Dar’s interpretation of the law.
“Marnus got warned then I all of a sudden took a couple of strides down the wicket, as I have done in every game I’ve ever played in my career, and Aleem just decided to get on the front foot and penalise us,” Warner told ABC.
“I wasn’t too sure what was going on but I wasn’t happy.
“Out of nowhere – it was just like he put his foot down and tried to stamp his authority.
“When you confront Aleem on little things like that he gets a little bit in your face.
“You’ve got to respect the umpire … got to try and keep off the wicket, especially in the second innings.”
It is the first time Warner has had a notable run-in with an umpire since returning from a year-long suspension.
Warner’s misdeed meant an additional five runs were added to New Zealand’s first-innings total, while the run that Warner had just scored was voided. International Cricket Council laws dictate the umpires must also report the incident to Richie Richardson and the match referee “shall take such action as is considered appropriate against the batsman concerned”.
However, Warner is not expected to face any further sanction beyond what Simon Katich termed a “ridiculous” punishment.
Originally published as Paine defends Aussie sportsmanship after rare Warner penalty